Topic of the Week 1- PRCA 3334

I think it is a great idea to have TV shows using social media to connect with their fans. This is not something that I particularly engage in. I have never live tweeted during a show. My friends typically tweet during shows though, such as large award ceremonies like the Grammy’s, or sometimes they tweet or follow hashtag trends on Pretty Little Liars. I usually don’t participate because I want to enjoy watching the show rather than being on my phone. I do like to hear about some of the tweets that viewers post while watching the show commenting on a celebrity’s behavior, singing, performance, dress, etc. I have never tweeted at a celebrity and therefore, have not received a response. To my knowledge, none of my roommates have ever tweeted at a celebrity and gotten a response back. The celebrities I follow on social media are: Michael Phelps, Jessica Simpson, Michael Kors, Kate Middleton, Georgia Southern University Sports, Dale Patridge, Cole Swindell, Haylie Poroy (celebrity nutritionist), Louie Giglio (Christian speaker), Levo League (Young women professional development), Jenna Marbles (Comedian), Peter Bielagus (financial advisor), lots of professional development, Human Resources, fitness, healthy eating, Savannah jobs, Savannah news, Gulfstream, news, PR jobs, Georgia Southern University affiliated pages (GSU crushes, Only at GSU, BookStore, GSU Problems, University Programming Board, Traditions and Spirit, GSU Southern Girl, Eagle Dining, RAC, CRI, George-Anne, GSU sports, pages, Natalie Coughlin, Ryan Seacrest, Conan O’Brien, Luke Bryan, Text From Last Night, Taylor Swift, Under Armor, Museums, Regina George, Men’s and Women’s Humor, Britney Spears, Ellen DeGeneres, and random fact pages.

14 thoughts on “Topic of the Week 1- PRCA 3334

  1. I follow a lot of those accounts as well; GSU Crushes gets me every time. And I’m glad you said you follow CRI because they are my client for PR writing and I didn’t even think about following them on Twitter!!

  2. Pingback: Comments on Hashtags for 3334 | Can I be excused for the rest of my life?

  3. Oh my! I LOVE that you follow Jenna marbles. I have been watching her YouTube videos since I was young. She is hilarious! Have you seen her “white girls in the club” video?

    • Jenna Marbles is awesome! Yeah I think I have been watching her videos since I was in high school or so. I have definitely seen that video. I love how she just takes everything that we are thinking and puts it all out there in a video. She could really care less about what other people think, and I love her honesty. I’ve always wanted to buy her Hermit and Marbles toys buttt I just don’t want to spend the money ha #PRCA3334

  4. Pingback: Blog Comments: Social Media & TV | Social Media_Madison Roesel

  5. I also don’t live tweet during television shows. Honestly, the actors/actresses I follow usually live tweet and I find myself skipping their tweet and not reading them. I find it extremely annoying.

  6. Hayley,

    I agree that using social media and hashtags are a great way to connect with fans. I have live tweeted several times before, but sometimes like you said, I would rather pay attention to the television show that I am watching as opposed to worrying about what I am tweeting. However, with the vast amount of internet sites that allow you to watch shows at a later date, it seems like people could care less about paying complete attention to what is happening during the show.

  7. I am like you I like to enjoy a show and not be playing on my phone. I do not want to miss anything. I would have liked to see you expand on what could be positive outcomes or negative outcomes of using social networking to connect with fans. You follow many people, you could have also used how they connect with their fans as an example.
    I have also not heard of anyone responding to tweets.

  8. Pingback: I commented on Erin Daniels and Hayley Johnson | PRCA 3334

  9. I don’t tweet during live shows either. I think the only time I have is when Ellen was trying to break the record for most retweets or something during the Oscars, which I couldn’t even do because so many people were trying to do the same thing!

  10. Pingback: Topic of the Week 1 – Comments | Payton Fritch

  11. I need to follow some of the people you follow. They seem interesting. You need to get involved in tweeting during your favourite show. It is so much fun, at least I think so. I need to follow that Jenna Marbles chick, I love a good laugh.

  12. Pingback: Topic of the Week #1 – Comments | Out of the Mouth of Babes

  13. I see we share the same ides Haley of actually taking time out to enjoy the shows that we are watching instead of being on the phone plus neither one of us have ever live tweeted. I have never followed GSU problems but heard the comments on there can be humorous and will be checking it out.

Leave a comment